Skip to content

Aging Gracefully

April 1, 2010

I’ve often heard people say that although they are afraid to get old, but that it’s better than the alternative (dying young). I had thought that was a good philosophy, until I went to my health class on Tuesday. We watched videos on Alzheimer’s and dementia and all the disabilities that come with getting old. It talked about the fact that our health care is at a point right now that we don’t let our bodies die when they naturally would. We fight off infectious diseases that took many lives in the past. We treat chronic diseases to such an extent that even when people can no longer swallow food, we put a feeding tube in them to keep them alive even further. Is this pushing nature too far? By the time many of our seniors die, they are so debilitated that they completely rely on others (whether it be nurses or family) to survive. I couldn’t help but think that this is such an awful way to live your last days. This is strictly my own personal opinion.

The bright side of all of this is that there are things that we can do, both to age better and to hopefully even avoid those diseases that cause deterioration of the brain. The biggest one: EXERCISE! While it may seem that this only keeps your body healthier, it also helps keep your brain healthier. Scientists typically say that what is good for your body is good for your brain (this also includes eating healthy foods). By exercising regularly, it keeps blood flowing better to your brain, resulting in less gray matter development. Another way to keep your brain healthy is to exercise your brain. By doing puzzles and solving problems, it also helps our brain stay strong, because it is being used. Try checking out this website for simple puzzles to do: http://www.brainbashers.com/

Exercise will also keep your body healthier. It will keep your muscles strong and your bones strong. It is even more important to stay motivated to move as we get older. It is never too late to start. Just keep moving!

Remember to keep the other aspects of your live  (social, spiritual, etc) healthy too!

Check out this website for more helpful ideas: http://websites.afar.org/site/PageServer?pagename=IA_Advocacy

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 5:56 pm

    I’ve always thought I’d rather die a little younger than live to be old and unable to think clearly or take care of myself. I whole-heartedly believe it’s important to stay healthy and keep our bodies running cleanly in order to maintain quality of life.

  2. April 4, 2010 6:10 am

    I saw a video last semester about this as well, in Dr. Page’s class – it was very distressing to me, I don’t know why, but it just made the thought of aging look very bleak to me. I really like the idea of establishing healthy habits now that will allow me to be as independant and healthy for as long as possible.

  3. heidistarr permalink
    April 4, 2010 8:05 am

    Keep learning new things! If you don’t know how to play guitar at age 60… learn! That is something that also helps you stay young mentally.

Leave a comment